Meal planning #NaBloPoMo

I’ve yet to get into my stride with meals in the new place. I keep going to reach for items, then finding we used them up in preparation for the move…

The last flat only had (once our now-dead beautiful side by side departed) a small freezer, so I was always playing a balancing game between empty and full.

But, rejoice! A normal sized fridge freezer! (if not slightly bigger? My perception is shot, having one tiny and one huge means I’ve no idea now)

So, cue today. After about a week of planning and researching I finally had a collection of meals that I could collate, bag and label before throwing into the freezer.

I’d like to say it was a breeze, but standing chopping and bagging for about 6-7 hours took its toll on my back and hips (thanks there to Hubs for the massage this eve!), but it does mean we have a good few weeks worth of homemade meals, from fresh ingredients, with the ease of a ready meal (they’re all either slow cooker or “cook meat, add sauce”).

I’ll try and work out the actual cost over the next few days, but almost all the ingredients (and lots of the ‘pantry items’ I had to replace) came in under £100. That’s (once the remaining 5 are done) 14 meals for 2, carb to be added later (veg was in the order too!), and 7 sauces (needing meat, veg and carb).

What’s that? Yes, that’s the sound of a smug housewife :p

Pinterest board for recipes

ETA: having done the maths, the actual cost of things I used was under £50. There’s quite a bit of ‘pantry’ stuff left over, but none will go to waste. Including the leftover stuff it’s still only £62, so about £4.50 a meal!! (not taking into account the extra sauces)

1920546_10152793168946963_7145940420694816295_n

2 Comments

  1. November 5, 2014 at 1:40 am

    I have totally not got into the swing of cooking here yet, and we seem to be repeating just three meals over and over again. I feel a bit like I’ve forgotten how to cook…

    • dinosaursinsocks said,

      November 5, 2014 at 2:25 am

      That’s pretty much how I felt 2 weeks ago. Every time I went to start dinner I was at a loss… We ended up getting ready meals and take out SO much and it was making us both sluggish

      I ended up setting aside 2 days when I looked up recipes/did food lists and then placed a big food order


Leave a Reply

